top of page

Kent name squad for opening T20 Premier League match

Kent Cricket Club Sierra Leone has on Friday morning named a 14-man squad for their first match in the 2017/2018 season against Asian Pro in the Mercury T20 Premier League on Sunday 17th December 2017 at the Prince of Wales School ground in Kingtom, Freetown at 10:00am.

Kent Head Coach, Joseph Pessima made one changes from the side that lost in the warm-up friendly match against Asia Pro last Sunday. Due to the batting strength of Asian Pro, Kent players need to bowl well if they are to beat one of the strongest T20 batting teams in the country.

Ace all-rounder Nabeel Shahzad has been included in the squad after he missed the pre-season warm-up friendly match, while young all-rounder Ibrahim S. Kamara who lost his father will be missing the match. In addition to that, three uncapped youngsters were named in the squad. The trio, Raymond Coker, Jonathan Bundu and Alhassan Turay performed exceptionally well with their bats and balls while they were on loan to Division One Clubs and that earned them a place in the team.

Meanwhile, defending champion, Mid-West Cricket Club will host newly promoted side from Division One, Wanderers Cricket Club in the opening match of the T20 Premier League on Saturday 16th December 2017.

Kent team for the Opening Mercury T20 Premier League:

1. James Bundu- Captain

2. Musa Sam Ganda

3. Aruna Kainessie - Wicket Keeper

4. Emmanuel Pessima

5. Nabeel Shahzad

6. Bockarie Abdul

7. Idrissa Bah

8. Richard Tengbeh

9. Samuel Conteh

10. George Sesay

11. Kaiwandi Pessima

12. Alhassan Turay

13. Jonathan Bundu

14. Raymond Coker

bottom of page